Sahra and I are both subscribed to Ipsy so you lucky viewers will get to see what both of us get each month! But for now, here is what I got in January! – Kayla

img_1307

The Glam Bag

I think the bag this month is really cute. It honestly reminds me of workout clothing more than metropolis and I wish I had a workout bag in this style.

img_1313

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Illumination in Medium

I typically don’t use concealer let alone for my under eyes. The first thing I noticed is that this concealer is very thick, similar to the regular Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer. I need to keep trying this concealer however, I think the shade is too light for my skintone. Sample is 1.5ml – Full size is 8 mL and retails for $24 on the It Cosmetics website.

img_1308

-417 Hand Moisturizer

This hand moisturizer is quite nice and I agree with the description on the Ipsy website. It absorbs extremely quickly without leaving any greasy residue. The scent is described as fruity, however, I would describe it as more of a fresh scent but it remains subtle. It’s definitely something I will continue to use and probably throw in one of my bags. Sample is 30mL

img_1309

Trust Fund Lipgasm Lipgloss in Method To The Madness

I have never used a Trust Fund lip gloss before and I enjoyed using this one. I would describe the color as a nude rosey pink. On my lips I don’t know if there’s a difference in color but if there is it’s a ‘your lips but better’ kind of color. The gloss goes on smooth and is not sticky. On the Trust Fund website the lip gloss retails for $22 and says it’s in a Ipsy Limited Edition Design for the packaging. This product came full size

img_1316

Pacifica Blushious Coconut & Rose Infused Cheek Color in Wildrose

At first glance all of the packaging for this product is super cute. Pink and gold foil cardboard packaging highlighting the Unicorn that’s on the lid of the container – how can it get any better? At first the blush appears to be a really dark shade but when used lightly with a brush it gives off a great color pay off. This product came full size and the Pacifica website retails it for $12

img_1312

Ciaté Gelology Top Coat

This product pleasantly surprised me when I opened my glam bag. I was not expecting it to be a full size product. I used this on my bare nails and while I didn’t notice it being any more plumping than a normal top coat to give it that gel nail look, I have a lot of positives to say about it. This is the first ciaté polish I’ve ever used and I love the brush. The brush fanned out so that it was able to coat my whole nail in one swipe. I was also so surprised how quickly it dried on my nail. I’m one of those people who tries to use their hands immediately after just painting them but I don’t think I’ll have any problem ruining what I just painted with this top coat. This product came full size and retails for £12 (~$19.66 CAD) on the Ciaté website.

img_1319

Lisa Hoffman Matte Gold Fragrance Necklace with Tuscan Fig Fragrance Beads – Cost: 300 points

This is one of the products I redeemed my points for on Ipsy. I have never seen jewellry posted on Ipsy websites for points and I decided to look into the brand before redeeming. The Lisa Hoffman collection is quite expensive, all of their necklaces retail for over $100. I enjoyed the concept for the jewellry on her website. You get wooden fragrance beads to put inside the necklace that deliver the scent. Since the brand seemed expensive I thought this was a good deal for 300 points. The necklace has a really nice design and has an okay looking 22” faceted ball chain. I’m always weary of getting fragrances without smelling them first because I’m quite picky about them but I’m really glad I enjoy this one! The description for Tuscan Fig according to Ipsy is: “The deliciously sweet and sexy notes of Tuscan Fig invite playful flirtation with a sophisticated charm. Surrounded by vanilla bean, honeysuckle, coconut wood, and gardenia, Tuscan Fig entices you with its warm essence”. I’m really bad at describing scents but I notice the vanilla most. I put one fragrance bead into the charm and it’s fairly strong on its own. The necklace sits quite far down but if people were to come near me they would be able to notice the scent.  I’m unsure of what the retail price for the necklace would be but the fragrance beads came full size and those retail for $40 a bottle.

img_1318

Em Cosmetics Shade Play Artistic Eye Color Palette in Melbourne Blues – Cost: 300 points

I’ve redeemed my points on Ipsy before for an Em Cosmetics palette and was impressed with the quality of the shadows so I decided that 300 points was worth it to get another one. The Em Cosmetics packaging looks somewhat inexpensive but does not feel that way. The Melbourne Blues palette is a collection of 3 blue shades and 3 sandy neutral shades all in different finishes. Without an eyeshadow primer some of the colors did not seem as pigmented when applied with a brush (the center blue shade), however, with an eye primer or my finger the shade was more pigmented. I’m not sure of the exact retail price for this palette as the Em Cosmetics website is being updated, however, I believe it was around $30

 

 

