A Lesson From A Patient For A Baby Nurse

It’s my 6th day into my final preceptorship (and finally my weekend) and a few days ago I had a patient tell me something important that he wanted me to know as a baby nurse.

As I was doing my routine check on my patient I had asked him if there was anything else he needed and he said “yes you can come talk to me”, and so I did as he was my only patient. I  sat in his room and listened to him talk for over an hour about his cat, his life when he was young, and his shop in his garage. My buddy nurse came in to get me after a while to do a task for her and so I left him in his room. Later that evening when shift was almost over and I was doing my final checks he told me to make sure I come back to see him before I left for the night. As I promised, I went back to see him and he told me he had something important to tell me. He told me about how when he was in the hospital before one of his nurses told him a story about how when she was young nurse. She told him how she once had a patient who had wanted to talk to her for a moment, and because she was busy she told him that she couldn’t talk to him at the time. Later on she went back and learnt he had passed away only 5 minutes after she told him she didn’t have time to talk to him. While this man was on his deathbed he had only wanted someone to talk to before passing and this nurse had regretted it ever since but wanted to pass on an important lesson. She told my patient if he had ever come across a young nurse to tell them her story and to tell them if a patient ever wants to talk to you take a moment to talk to them because you don’t know what it could mean to them.

This is something that will stick with me for the rest of my nursing career and it meant a lot to me that my patient wanted to tell me this (I’m a big sap so I almost got teary when he told me this). It just shows how important some of the smallest acts we do while caring for our patients can have such a significant impact and meaning for them. People will always notice the little things you do even if it doesn’t always seem that way. 
-Kayla 

Leave a Reply

