May Glam Bag – Summer Friday

I think this month’s glambag is really cute for the summer and I like that the plastic makes it easy in case sunscreen or a lipstick melts everywhere. To be honest, I don’t really understand why this month’s theme is called “Summer Friday” I just feel like there are tons of other titles that would have been a better choice.  I’m not overly excited about any of the products this month but it’s also not the worst glambag I’ve ever gotten. I did enjoy that I was able to complete a full face look with all of the products I received.

IMG_1749

Mellow Cosmetics Creamy Matte Lipstick in Posh

I’ve gotten a Mellow lipstick in the past in an orange shade (electro) that I never wear so I’m glad I received a wearable color this time around. However, this was not the best color choice for my skin tone. I would describe the color as a true nude. It’s a combination of brown and dark pink undertones. I find that this color is a little too brown which sucks all of the color from my face and blends my lips into my skin color. In order for me to wear this color I’d have to use it under lip gloss or have heavier eye makeup. Even then I’d probably grab one of my other nude lipsticks that suit me better. The lipstick itself is quite nice. It applies smoothly and is a good consistency. It does not feel overly dry for a matte lipstick but also not creamy enough that it slides around. As a bonus it has a pleasant scent. I’m not likely to purchase any of these lipsticks in the future as I’m not a fan of any of their other shades and not necessarily because of formula. 

Full size product. Retails for $13.00  USD on the Mellow website. 10% off and free shipping on orders over $40 [Ipster]

IMG_1751

Manna Kadar Cosmetics – Radiance Split Pan Bronzer and Highlighter Duo

When I first look at this pan honestly it bothers me that the split between the pans is not straight down the middle. This was followed by my struggle of trying to open the dang product because the packaging is fairly slim and that sucker is just snapped closed tightly. Along with these two things, the product is still just meh to me. The size of each of the pan halves seems small if I wanted to use one of my face brushes to apply the product. Both colors seem soft when I used my fingers to swatch the colors on my hand but the payoff was a little powdery. The highlight was nice but nothing special. The bronzer is shimmery and I tend to use matte bronzers more than ones with shimmer so this half of the pan wasn’t too exciting. I think this product will most likely live in my on the go bag rather than with the rest of my collection mainly because of the size and I might get more use if it’s in my makeup bag. I think this product would be better lived as an eyeshadow duo. I don’t believe this product is worth the retail cost because you could find much better highlighters and bronzers in the drugstore.

Product is 3g and might be full size? I’m not sure because there’s nothing for me to compare to on the Manna Kadar website besides the photos. This product retails for $21 on the website. Get 30% off any purchase at Manna Kadar [IPSY2017]

IMG_1748

Peek Beauty – metalimatte in A-Boo

This is my first time trying out Peek Beauty and so far so good. The tin is tiny tiny which makes it great for on-the-go and super fun to fidget with since the lid just slides off the bottom. The color is a nice and happy peachy pink color that’s super creamy. I originally applied this color with my fingers and it was easy to blend into my skin. It’s also super easy to build the color up to where you want it. I’m not the biggest fan of cream blushes but I think this one is just great for on-the-go again because of the size of the product and also ease of application.

The product came as 1.5g or 0.05oz. I couldn’t find this product individually on the website but the they have a metalimatte mini tin set of 4 for $33.78 CAD and the rest of their products are $30 CAD and up.  Get 20% off any purchase at Peek Beauty with  [IPSYBLUSH20]

IMG_1752

Pacifica Island Life Eyeshadow Palette

Out of everything that I got in my Ipsy this was the one I was most excited to try. Not only do I love eyeshadow but this palette is limited edition to Ipsy! All of these colors have shimmer and felt super soft and creamy. I really enjoyed the color scheme of this palette and it’s one that you could easily take from day to night. They blended well but some were better than others. I tried all of these eyeshadows on top of my Urban Decay Primer Potion in Sin. Colors from left to right:

Skinny Dip – light sand shade: this color applied nicely. It was pigmented and creamy and I had no problems with it.

Coral Sand – light coral pink: this was the shade I was the most excited for however the pay off was disappointing. Swatched on my arm the color was powdery. When I applied it with a short shader brush I wasn’t able to get the color to build up so it was just muted shimmery shade.

Golden – dark golden shade: I loved this color. It’s a true gold color and it applied well with good color pay off.

Treasure – medium shimmery brown: This is your standard medium brown shimmery shade that can be used all the time and with almost any look. To me it’s only a hint brighter than Smog in the Urban Decay Naked Palette. It has great pigmentation and blends wonderfully.

Sandalwood – deep purple brown: originally I thought that this color was a deep brown but it’s actually a deep purple and brown shade which I find makes this palette more unique. This color blended and applied easily with good pigmentation.

If you shop at Ulta get 20% off all Pacifica cosmetics at ulta.com [PACLOVE]
IMG_1750

Royal and Langnickel MODA Precision Angled Brush

I love getting brushes but this one actually confuses me a bit. The brush seems too big to use on my eye but too small to use on the rest of my face so I’m not really sure what I’ll use it for. Maybe to blend eyeshadow? The brush is still super soft I just need to find a use for it. Might not necessarily a brush that I would gravitate towards if I were buying from the site.

I couldn’t actually find this brush on the website but the brushes are relatively inexpensive averaging about $8 USD per brush.  20% off any purchase [Ipsy20] at the Royal and Langnickel website 

-Kayla

If you want to subscribe to Ipsy click here 

Party Like A Pineapple cup and coaster I purchased from Walmart because I have a pineapple obsession now.

Leave a Reply

