With summer being right around the corner that means vacation and impromptu weekend getaways. Whenever I leave my house I am notorious for over packing. Here are some ways that I’ve been trying to get myself to stop over packing for those weekend and short trips.

 

  1. Pack necessities first. Things that you should for sure be bringing with you.

 

  • Toothbrush and toothpaste, underwear and socks, sunscreen, bug spray, sunglasses, tampons and pads if it’s that time of the month.   

 

  • Makeup? I personally don’t wear a lot if any makeup on a day-to-day basis so I can usually get away with only bringing an eyeliner, mascara, maybe a bronzer/highlighter duo that can double as eyeshadow if needed (Lip balm is my only must and I feel so lost without one). I know lots of people have their go to makeup looks/products that come as singles or aren’t always in palettes but think about where you’re going and what you’re going to be doing. Have some lesser used duos or palettes stashed away in the back of your collection? Maybe dig one of those out for the weekend. Picking products that can be used in more than one way is also a great way to pack less. Also think about what is the bare minimum look you could get away with but still feel comfortable (even though everyone is beautiful with or without makeup ;P). Just make sure you bring your makeup remover as well! I use a cleanser that doubles as a makeup remover.

 

  1. Clothes – this one is where I ALWAYS get stuck over packing but I think I’ve been getting better!
    • If you’re going away for the weekend think of what you need during the day and during the night. For example: I go to my friend’s cabin a lot during the summer so I know during the day I need a swimsuit, something to wear over my swimsuit, and then something comfy and warmer to wear for the evening around the campfire. In reality I only need 2 outfits.
    • If I’m going to the cabin for 2 days I don’t need 4 outfits. I’ll wear one outfit in the car ride there which usually includes say my yoga pants, a tank top, and a hoodie. There, I’m all set for my evenings at the cabin without having to physically pack it into a bag.
    • Yes you can re-wear your clothes. If I’m only going for a few days mix and match your clothes to create different looks. This can easily be done by packing one pair of shorts and two tops etc. If I’m going to the beach really my clothes are only there so I can walk from point A to point B.
    • Dresses are great for going from day to night if you’re going to be out and about all day. Easy outfit with one garment. OR pack one skirt. You can mix and match the tops you already have with the skirt for more looks. My summer fave is the maxi skirt which you can really wear almost anywhere.    
    • Pajamas are a must have for me.

 

  • Swimsuit

 

  • Accessories? I personally don’t usually bring accessories aside from sunglasses, my beach bag, and a hat but try and get multiple looks out of the accessories you do bring.

 

  1. Shoes – this is where I’m also notorious for overpacking even though it seems so simple.
  • What are you going to be doing and therefore what shoes do you need. When I think of this question it seriously seems ridiculously easy to me: Flip flops and shoes that cover my feet that are comfy to walk in. That’s all I need for a weekend at the lake. If you’re going from day to night consider some cute and comfy strappy sandals like gladiator sandals. They’ll stay on your feet and you could wear them on the boardwalk and out for dinner. If you’re exercising, pack appropriate footwear but at the same time consider if you could wear your runners instead of other regular shoes you were considering. Also you need shoes in the car so just wear a pair you’re going to be using for the weekend.

 

  1. Electronics
  • Phone charger
  • Camera – if that’s your thing
  • Portable speaker? These are great anywhere if you have one.
  • Depends on what you’re doing do you need to bring your laptop? Most likely not, but depends on what your weekend trip entitles.   

 

  1. Extras – things you may or may not need depending on what you’re doing.
  • A towel
  • Pillow and blanket
  • Snacks 🙂
  • Were you in charge of anything? Make sure you bring it 🙂 

 

Happy packing and adventuring 🙂 -Kayla

